Today I’m Celebrating


Today I’m celebrating. Birds chirping. Pink sunrise. A fresh spring breeze. The hint of blossoms and new leaves unfurling verdant green.

Mister T is 5 months old today! Hooray!

Mister T is 5 months old today! Hooray!

20130508-135517.jpg

Maximilian celebrating his bro’s 5 month birthday this morning.

Today I’m celebrating my little Truman is five months old. What a whirlwind this has been. Did I mention we moved to Minnesota last month? We unexpectedly relocated for Michael’s new job. Did I mention I moved to an enormous house sight-unseen? I moved here trusting Michael’s photos that the house would be okay. Can you imagine? April 1st we arrived to a yard covered in mounds of snow at the end of a cul-de-sac. The playground in the backyard, buried in snow. It’s been a month of snow, snow, snow. Oh and record-breaking cold. Welcome. Welcome to my new life in Minnetonka, Minnesota.

Today I’m celebrating another day of warm, sunny Spring. I am hanging onto the hope of this day because it’s all I’ve got. And I know that this is all we are ever given, the promise of a day. Just this day. That’s it. So I’m going to live it as fully as possible. Today I’m celebrating the joy of my little Truman who is calm, happy, and peaceful (unless, of course, he’s hungry or needs a diaper change). He started sleeping through the night at 8 weeks. Bless him.

Today I’m celebrating a day of new adventures. Uprooting my career and life in New York City is something that I still can’t quite fathom. I think I’m still in shock. But it happened a month ago. Today I look for beauty in this incredibly uncomfortable journey. Step by step, day by day. I’m not sure how often I’ll be blogging or when I’ll be taking on new projects. This is my creative sabbatical. This is my time to incubate and explore. Today I’m celebrating that I have the opportunity to do this.

Here are some things I’ve been celebrating and I wanted to share with you:

20130508-141801.jpg

Truman turned 4 months and he really didn’t mind the snow!

A very frozen Lake Minnetonka in April.

A very frozen Lake Minnetonka in April.

Spring in Minnesota looked like this.

Spring in Minnesota looked like this.

Found this snow Buddha on a walk through the hood.

Found this snow Buddha on a walk through the hood.

Well, then this happened. A new Ford pickup. First time for everything. Maximilian named our truck, McQueen.

Well, then this happened. A new Ford pickup. First time for everything. Maximilian named our truck, McQueen.

Love the Walker. Love the sculpture garden. Love that the snow melted.

Love the Walker. Love the sculpture garden. Love that the snow melted.

Discovered another sculpture garden at the Minnesota Landscape Arboretum. 1100 acres of BEAUTY. So inspiring.

Discovered the sculpture garden at the Minnesota Landscape Arboretum. 1100 acres of BEAUTY. So inspiring.

Jellyfish have no heart, no blood, no blood, no brain and so beautiful. Saw this at the aquarium.

Jellyfish have no heart, no blood, no blood, no brain and so beautiful. Saw this at the aquarium.

We love Gale Woods Farm. We saw three lambs being born. We've been going back to visit. They're getting so big now! Beautiful!

We love Gale Woods Farm. We saw three lambs being born. We’ve been going back to visit. They’re getting so big now! Beautiful!

20130508-072141.jpg

We celebrated Spring at The Heart of the Beast’s May Day Parade in Minneapolis — loved this wild explosion of creativity! Hallelujah all the snow is gone and it’s sunny!

5 responses

  1. Pingback: School of Speed Decorating Begins 9/9 | jill vegas

Leave a Reply

